Civil Service Commission

The New York State Civil Service system was developed to ensure that the best and brightest employees are brought into public service. The Schenectady County Department of Civil Service was established, per Article V, Section 6, of the New York State Constitution, to ensure that appointments and promotions in the civil service of the state and all of the civil divisions shall be made according to merit and fitness; and, as far as practicable, shall be in the competitive class.

The Schenectady County Civil Service Commission is responsible for five major areas of Civil Service administration. These are 1) adoption of civil service rules; 2) the classification of positions, 3) the administration of an examination program, 4) the maintenance of employee records, and 5) the enforcement of Civil Service Law through the payroll and certification process. The Schenectady County Civil Service Commission and this department serve all of the municipal jurisdictions throughout Schenectady County including the Towns of Glenville, Rotterdam, Niskayuna, Princetown, and Duanesburg; the City of Schenectady, the Villages of Delanson and Scotia, all of the school districts throughout the County and other public entities such as the Schenectady Municipal Housing Authority.

Thank you for taking time to visit our webpage and I invite you to contact our office with any questions you may have!

Civil Service Commission Members

Judy Dagostino, Chairperson

B. Don Ackerman

Richard G. Nebolini

Schenectady County Civil Service Commission July Meeting: 

The next meeting of the Schenectady County Civil Service Commission will be held:

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Schenectady County Office Building
Legislature Chamber
620 State Street, 6th Floor
Schenectady, NY 12305





Human Resources and Civil Service
620 State Street 2nd Floor
Schenectady, NY 12305
(518) 388-4233 (p) (518)388-4235 (f)

Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm, Monday-Friday
(Except Holidays)