Emergency Medical Services Committee

Schenectady County Legislature Resolution 138-79 established the Schenectady County Emergency Medical Services Committee on June 12, 1979 and charged the committee with coordinating and implementing the operations of the Emergency Medical Services System and transmitting their recommendations to the legislative body. 

The hospitals, fire, rescue, and EMS services within the County are all represented on the committee and meet monthly to discuss pertinent EMS issues including but not limited to patient care, continuing education for providers, interagency cooperation, community education, County MCI plan and quality improvement.

Committee members are appointed by their respective agencies, and serve one-year renewable terms.  Additionally, the County Fire/EMS Coordinator, Office of Emergency Management hold a non-voting seat on the Committee.  One At-Large member from the community is appointed by the County Legislature who also appoints a legislator as a non-voting liaison. 

The EMS Committee is also responsible for soliciting nominations for the annual EMS Awards presented each year in May.  A subcommittee is established to review all nominations and select deserving nominees.  Formal presentations are made to award recipients at the annual EMS Recognition Dinner which is held at Ellis Hospital – Nott Street Campus.  The nominations and names of the local recipients are then forwarded to the Regional Council for award consideration on the regional level.   

Meetings are held on the third Monday of each month at Ellis Hospital - McClellan Street Campus, Conference Room, with no meetings held in July or August.  The meetings start at 6:00 PM.  Schenectady County EMS providers are invited and encouraged to attend any meeting.    





Mark LaViolette

Emergency Management
130 Princetown Plaza
Schenectady, NY
(518) 370-3113 (p)