Skip to main content

County Legislature

County Legislature

Schenectady County Government is comprised of an elected legislative body composed of 15 representatives elected to four-year terms from four distinct districts.

Legislative Districts

Click on district number for a map of the district.

District Locales Seats
District 1 City of Schenectady 3 Elected Officials
District 2 City of Schenectady 3 Elected Officials
District 3 Town of Glenville, Town of Niskayuna, Village of Scotia 5 Elected Officials
District 4 Town of Duanesburg, Town of Princetown, Town of Rotterdam, Village of Delanson 4 Elected Officials

The County Legislature determines all policy for the County and adopts and enacts resolutions and local laws necessary for the operation of County Government.

The County Legislature holds a bi-annual organizational meeting where they elect a Chair and Vice-Chair from their membership. The Chair of the Legislature is the chief elected official for the County.

Meeting Date
Committee Meeting May 2, 2022 at 7:00pm

Regular Meeting

May 10, 2022 at 7:00pm 

Attend a Meeting In-Person

Members of the public who attend the meeting should enter the County Office Building through the State Street entrance.



Special Meeting - April 25, 2022

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that pursuant to Subdivision three of section 2.03 of Article II of the Administrative Code of the County of Schenectady there is hereby called a Special Meeting of the County Legislature by the Clerk thereof, at the direction of Chair Anthony Jasenski, Sr., to wit:


THERE SHALL BE a Special Meeting of the Schenectady County Legislature on Monday, April 25, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. by the call of Chair Anthony Jasenski, Sr. in the Legislative Chambers, Schenectady County Office Building, 620 State Street, Schenectady, NY for the consideration of a resolution electing a cents per gallon rate of sales and compensating use taxes on motor fuel and diesel motor fuel, in lieu of the percentage rate of such taxes pursuant to the authority of Article 29 of the Tax Law of the State Of New York.

Special Meeting Agenda

Upcoming Legislative Committee Meeting

May 2, 2022 at 7pm

May 2022 Committee Agenda

To view the meeting live click here

Upcoming Legislative Regular Meeting

May 10, 2022 at 7pm 

May 2022 Regular Meeting Agenda

May 2022 Rules Committee Agenda

To view the meeting live click here.

Legislative Contacts, Documents and Calendars