Schenectady County Government is comprised of an elected legislative body composed of 15 representatives elected to four-year terms from four distinct districts.

The districts include:

  • District 1: City of Schenectady       3 Elected Legislators
  • District 2: City of Schenectady       3 Elected Legislators
  • District 3: Towns of Glenville, including the Village of Scotia, and Niskayuna  5 Elected Legislators
  • District 4: Towns of Duanesburg, including the Village of Delanson, Princetown, and Rotterdam  4 Elected Legislators

The County Legislature determines all policy for the County and adopts and enacts resolutions and local laws necessary for the operation of County Government.

The County Legislature holds a bi-annual organizational meeting where they elected a Chair and Vice-Chair from their membership.  The Chair of the Legislature is the chief elected official for the County.

During the bi-annual organizational meeting the County Legislature appoints a County Manager who’s responsibility is to ensure the effective and efficient operation of County Government and the delivery of responsive, high quality services to the residents of Schenectady County.

The County Manager is the chief administrative officer and manages all departments, offices, agencies, and units except as otherwise provided in the County charter.

Separately elected offices include the Schenectady County Sheriff, Schenectady County Clerk, and Schenectady County District Attorney.

The Schenectady County Legislature has set the schedule for its review of the County Manager’s 2018 County Budget proposal.

The Schenectady County Legislature approved a $4.8 million project to resurface the main runway and design taxiway improvements at the Schenectady

Mont Pleasant Library Branch Concept Rendering

The Capital Region Land Bank Board of Directors met last evening and approved bids to demolish 11 blighted buildings in the Mont Pleasant neighborh